Sports YAL Award Winners

Posted: 07/12/2018 by alando1423 in Adolescent & Young Adult Sports Literature, Sports YAL Award Winners

Click the “Sports YAL Award Winners” link above to find award-winning texts for your classroom.  Enjoy!


^ Nonfiction

Award Winning Books

^ Black Diamond: The Story of the Negro Baseball Leagues by Patricia McKissack and Frederick McKissack – 1995 Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book

^ Eagle Blue: A Team, A Tribe, and a High School Basketball Season in Arctic Alaska by Michael D’Orso – 2007 Alex Award

^ Counting Coup: A True Story of Basketball and Honor on the Little Big Horn by Larry Colton – 2001 Alex Award

Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli – 1991 Newbery Medal Winner, 1990 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award

^ One Shot at Forever by Chris Ballard – 2013 Alex Award

 Shadow of a Bull by Maya Wojciechowska – 1965 Newbery Medal Winner

Slam by Walter Dean Myers – 1997 Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner

^ Swimming to Antarctica: Tales of a Long-Distance Swimmer by Lynn Cox – 2005 Alex Award

The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie – 2007 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature, 2008 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award

^ The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game by Michael Lewis – 2007 Alex Award

crossover   The Crossover by Kwame Alexander – 2015 Coretta Scott King Author Honor Book, 2015 Newbery Medal

The Moves Make the Man by Bruce Brooks – 1985 Newbery Honor Book, 1985 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award

The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini – 2004 Alex Award

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – 2012 Printz Award Honor Book

Twelve Rounds to Glory (12 Rounds to Glory): The Story of Muhammad Ali Twelve Rounds to Glory: The Story of Muhammad Ali by Charles R. Smith Jr. and Bryan Collier – 2008 Coretta Scott King Author Honor

^ We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball by Kadir Nelson – 2009 Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner and Illustrator Honor


Alex Awards

Boston Globe-Horn Book Awards

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

National Book Awards

Newbery Medal and Honor Book

Printz Awards

Comments are closed.